Emergency Management Advisory Group Minutes

February 13, 2025

Attendees

Please see pages 3 and 4.

Call to Order

The Emergency Management Advisory Group met via Teams on February 13, 2025. The meeting began at 13:00 and was presided over by Deanna Davis, EMAG Chair. Amanda Webster, EMD, recorded the minutes.

Approval of Minutes

A motion to approve December 12, 2024, meeting minutes was made by Kyle Bustad and seconded by Hannah Cleverly.

Reports

EMC Meeting Review

Kirk Holmes, EMC Chair, reviewed the morning EMC meeting.

- The EMC approved the EMC 2024 annual report content, which must include sections on hazard mitigation, hazardous materials, cybersecurity, and critical infrastructure. Additional topics include unreinforced masonry, disaster resilience planning, public safety power shutoffs, wildland-urban interface, and follow-up to the SB 5812 electric vehicle report.
- Approval of the 2025 Strategic Workplan was approved.

Legislative Update

Robert Ezelle, EMD Director, provided the update.

- Due to budget constraints, certain originally planned bills and decision packages will not
 proceed. There are several bills that are currently under consideration regarding the
 disclosure of energy infrastructure information. Additionally, there are a few bills aimed at
 limiting gubernatorial powers during emergencies or disasters, specifying the extent of the
 Governor's authority, and the necessary consultation and consent from the legislature.
- The backcountry search and rescue bills have returned. There is also a bill focusing on the early deployment of fire service resources, school emergency response, and seismic hazard risk reduction.
- It should be noted that the deadline for bills to be heard by the Committee is next Friday.

Grant Allocation Process Review Update

Sharon Wallace, Deputy Director, EMD, shared an update on the planned SHSP grant allocation review. Completion of a facilitator contract is anticipated next week. Once this has been finalized, the project will move forward. The entire EMAG team should participate, with Deanna David in a leadership role. Outreach will be conducted to Homeland Security Regional Coordinators and other parties as appropriate.

2025 SPR Results

David Broussard, Preparedness Assessment Program Manager, EMD, gave a presentation to highlight the changes in the data gathering methodology for the 2024 Stakeholder Preparedness review. This year, SurveyMonkey has been discontinued as a tool for collecting data and the County Emergency Preparedness Assessment (CEPA) has been implemented. The goal is to establish a baseline for the state with a three-year data gathering cycle, ensuring 100 percent consistency across all counties.

FY24 Preparedness Grants Funding

Sierra Wardell, Financial Operations Section Manager, EMD, presented a detailed breakdown HSGP allocations and preparedness grants funding for the most recent fiscal year. The Senior Advisory Committee (SAC) is responsible for managing all preparedness funding to ensure its effective use and to minimize duplication efforts.

Open Public Forum

No remarks were made.

Closing Remarks

Closing remarks were presented by Robert Ezelle, EMD Director, and Deanna Davis, EMAG Chair.

Adjournment

Deanna Davis, EMAG Chair, adjourned the meeting at 2:17.

EMAG Member Attendance

Position	Name	Feb 13
Eastside Counties		
Small County Tier 1	JoAnn Boggs (Pri)	P
	Steve Bonner (Alt)	A
Small County Tier 2	Sandi Duffey (Pri)	P
	Maurice Goodall (Alt)	Р
Small County Tier 3	Adenea Sellars (Pri)	P
	Darren Higashiyama (Alt)	Р
Medium County Pos 1	Deanna Davis (Pri)	P
	Sean Davis (Alt)	P
Medium County Pos 2	Tony Miller (Pri)	P
	Vacant	-
Large County	Chandra Fox (Pri)	Р
	Vacant	-
Westside Counties		
Small County Tier 1	Scott McDougall (Pri)	Р
	Brendan Cowan (Alt)	Р
Small County Tier 2	Hannah Cleverly (Pri)	Р
	Willie Bence (Alt)	A
Medium County	Eric Brooks (Pri)	Р
	Vacant	
Large County Pos 1	Lucia Schmit (Pri)	Р
	Vacant	-
Large County Pos 2	Kyle Bustad (Pri)	P
	Amy Gillespie (Alt)	Р
Very Large County	Brendan McCluskey (Pri)	Р
	Alysha Kaplan (Alt)	A
Cities		
Small Cities	Anne LeSage (Pri)	A
	Mindi Mattson (Alt)	A
Medium Cities Pos 1	John Unfred (Pri)	A
	Heather Kelly (Alt)	Р
Medium Cities Pos 2	Lisa Figueroa (Pri)	P
	VACANT	
Large Cities	Curry Mayer (Pri)	Р
	Andrew Stevens	Р
CONSORTIA		
CRESA	Scott Johnson (Pri)	P

NEMCo	Kevin Lowery (Alt)	Р
Tribes		
Tribe Pos 1	Cherrie May (Pri)	A
	Vacant	-
Tribe Pos 2	Ada McDaniel (Pri)	A
	Steve de los Angeles (Alt)	A

Guest Attendance

Nick Bacon Nick Falley Jordan Hanes Kirk Holmes Stacie Roundtree Kyra Tirey Tammi Wright

EMD

Casey Broom
David Broussard
Robert Ezelle
Victoria Fontana
Joel Haarstad
Anne-marie Marshall-Dody
Sharon Wallace
Sierra Wardell
Adam Wasserman
Amanda Webster